Apply Visit Deposit Give

Latest News

Wheeling Jesuit to Induct 12 into Alumni Hall of Honor This June

  Thursday, May 16, 2019 3:26 PM
  WU News


Wheeling Jesuit University alumni from the 2019 reunion classes have selected 12 of their peers or mentors for induction into the Hall of Honor during Alumni Weekend, set for June 21-23.

Created by the university’s Alumni Council, the Hall of Honor (HOH) provides alumni with a voice to recognize former classmates, faculty and staff for their contributions to their profession, society and the greater WJU community. This year’s inductees are:

Rev. Edward Gannon, S.J. – former faculty member selected by the Class of 1959

Amelia Potesta-Weber – Class of 1964

Timothy Cogan – Class of 1969

John Giese – Class of 1974

Lale Front Virostek – Class of 1979

Bruce Brubaker – Class of 1984

Elizabeth Kniska Keyes – Class of 1989

Dr. Benjamin Stout – former faculty member selected by the Class of 1994

Jason Culley – Class of 1999

Kelly Swan – Class of 2004

Valerie Grimes Piko – Class of 2009

Donald Luke Kopp – Class of 2014

The 2019 Hall of Honor induction marks the 10th year each anniversary class has had the opportunity to nominate and induct one person. While WJU has several awards given to alumni, only those graduates celebrating a reunion determine the selection of Hall of Honor inductees.

“Congratulations to the 2019 Hall of Honor inductees.  This year’s HOH class has representatives from business, education, social services, research, health care and public service. We look forward to honoring each of these deserving individuals during Alumni Weekend,” said Joe Munhall ‘93, president of Alumni Council.

Members of the Hall of Honor will be recognized at the Alumni Recognition and Awards Dinner Saturday, June 22 as part of this year’s Alumni Weekend. The names of this year’s HOH class will be placed on the monument located outside of Swint Hall.